Background Image

Sinfonic 4.0

OPERAwithoutWORDS

November 2019 - March 2020

Symphony concert and opera arias

European Tour

An exceptional approach: The newly founded ensemble Sinfonic 4.0 under the musical direction of Giuliana Retali interweaves famous symphonies with opera arias, affects and projections. Retali sees the symphonies from the perspective of an opera composer and endows them with a storyline that is then brought out by the singing and the projections.

In the days when these symphonies were composed, it was commonplace to incorporate opera arias or even, for example, flute or piano concertos into the symphonies. Nowadays however this practice has fallen into oblivion, so reinstating it is an innovative coup for Sinfonic 4.0, combined with their performative approach. For their debut concert the ensemble will be presenting Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony (1802-1803) and Mozart's Jupiter Symphony (1788).
Italo Bolano, a renowned expert on Napoleon, painted the accompanying pictures while researching Napoleon's memoirs, written in solitude during his exile on the island of St. Helena. In this way the Eroica Symphony, originally composed by Beethoven for Napoleon, will transport us into the innermost emotional world of the hero.



Musical direction Giuliana Retali | Tenor Gian Luca Pasolini | Orchestra Sinfonic 4.0 (on period instruments) | Pictures Italo Bolano | Projections Juan Andres Mateos

musical direction & tenor & artist

Screenshot

Giuliana Retali

musical direction

Pianist and harpsichordist, Giuliana Retali studied conducting with C.A. Bünte and Symeon Yoannidis in Berlin. She trained in historical performance practice at the Schola Cantorum, Basel, and was for many years assistant for baroque and classical opera productions. She has been conducting concerts and operas since 2014. Thanks to her passion for literature, she is renowned for the clarity of the text and the power of recitation in her opera productions. In 2017 she founded Opera 4.0 with huge success. In 2018 she started up Sinfonic 4.0, whose particular strength lies in bringing out the rhetoric implicit in orchestral music.

mehr Infos

Gian Luca Pasolini

tenor

The tenor Gian Luca Pasolini came late to singing, beginning his vocal studies at the age of 30, and graduating with distinction. He made his debut in exceptional circumstances: he was personally selected by Zubin Mehta to sing Carmina Burana as part of Mehta’s 70th birthday celebrations. Following this he began a regular collaboration with some of the greatest opera houses around the world, such as New York, Los Angeles, Vancouver, Berlin, Milan, Moscow, St. Petersburg, Beijing, Seoul, Tokyo and has also performed with Opera 4.0. Over the years he has sung with conductors such as Daniele und Roberto Abbado, Daniel Barenboim, Semyon Bychkov and Paul Curran.

Screenshot
Screenshot

Italo Bolano

artist

Italo Bolano was born in 1936 in Portoferraio on the island of Elba. His painting has transitioned from youthful figurative expressionism into abstract expressionism. Of particular importance are his cycles of paintings which are devoted to the poetry of Mario Luzi, to Napoleon, to ‘la Donna Isola’ (the ‘Lady Island’) and to Jesus Christ.
He created the ‘Open Air Museum’ which occupies a space of roughly 10 000 square metres in a green valley on the outskirts of Portoferraio and was thus able to fill ‘his’ island with art. His paintings and his artworks, made from steel, dallas glass and ceramics, are displayed both in Italy and abroad, in museums, public galleries and private collections.

Background Image

Sinfonic 4.0

OPERohneWORTE

November 2019 -
März 2020

Sinfonisches Konzert & Opernarien

Europa Tour

Außergewöhnlicher Ansatz: Das gerade neu gegründete Ensemble Sinfonic 4.0 unter der musikalischen Leitung Giuliana Retalis verwebt berühmte Sinfonien mit Opernarien, Affekten und Projektionen. Giuliana Retali sieht die Sinfonien aus der Sicht einer Opernkomponistin. Sie unterstellt eine Handlung, die durch den Gesang und die Projektionen hervorgehoben wird.

Tatsächlich war das Einbauen von Opernarien, aber auch zum Beispiel von Klavier- oder Flötenkonzerten in die Sinfoniekonzerte zu deren Entstehungszeit Gang und Gäbe. Heutzutage ist diese Praxis aber in Vergessenheit geraten und in Verbindung mit dem performativen Ansatz von Sinfonic 4.0 geradezu innovativ. Für ihr Debüt-Konzert setzt das Ensemble die Eroica (1802-1803) von Ludwig van Beethoven und Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Jupiter-Sinfonie (1788)  um.
Italo Bolano, ein ausgemachter Napoleon-Kenner, hat die Bilder während seines Studiums der auf St. Helena in der Einsamkeit geschriebenen Memoiren Napoleons erschaffen. Somit entführt uns die Eroica, ursprünglich von Beethoven für Napoleon geschrieben, in die innerste Gefühlswelt des Helden.



Musikalische Leitung Giuliana Retali | Tenor Gian Luca Pasolini | Orchester Sinfonic 4.0 auf Originalinstrumenten | Bilder Italo Bolano | Projektionen Juan Andres Mateos

Musikalische Leitung & Tenor & Künstler

Screenshot

Giuliana Retali

Musikalische Leitung

Pianistin und Cembalistin hat bei C.A. Bünte und Symeon Yoannidis in Berlin dirigieren studiert. Ausgebildet in der historischen Aufführungspraxis an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, war sie lange Zeit Assistentin in barocken und klassichen Opernproduktionen. Seit 2014 dirigiert sie Konzerte und Opern. Aufgrund Ihrer Leidenschaft für die Literatur ist sie bekannt für die Klarheit des Textes und die Kraft der Rezitation in der Oper. 2017 gründete sie Oper4.0 mit grossem Erfolg. 2018 hat sie Sinfonic4.0 ins Leben gerufen, deren Besonderheit die Kraft der "unausgesprochenen" Rethorik ist.

mehr Infos

Gian Luca Pasolini

Tenor

Der Tenor Gian Luca Pasolini ist ein "Spätberufener": Sein Musikstudium begann er erst im Alter von 30 Jahren, schloss es dann mit Auszeichnung ab. Sein Opern-Debüt fand zu einem besonderen Anlass statt: Pasolini trat bei einer Aufführung von Carmina Burana anlässlich des 70. Geburtstags von Zubin Metha auf, der den jungen Sänger persönlich ausgewählt hatte. Im Anschluss begann eine regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit einigen der größten Opernhäusern der Welt, wie New York, Los Angeles, Vancouver, Berlin, Mailand, Moskau, St. Petersburg, Peking, Seoul, Tokio und Oper4.0. In dieser Zeit sang er unter Dirigenten wie Daniele und Roberto Abbado, Daniel Barenboim, Semyon Bychkov, Paul Curran u.v.a..

Screenshot
Screenshot

Italo Bolano

Bilder

Italo Bolano wurde 1936 in Portoferraio (Isola d'Elba -Italien) geboren. Seine Malerei ist vom jugendlichen figurativen Expressionismus zum abstrakten Expressionismus übergegangen. Besonders wichtig sind die Zyklen der Malerei, die der Poesie des Dichterpoeten Mario Luzi, Napoleon, der Donna Isola und Jesus Christus gewidmet sind. In einem grünen Tal am Rande von Portoferraio (Insel Elba) schuf er auf rund 10.000 Quadratmetern das "Open Air Museum" und füllte „seine“ Insel mit Kunst. Seine Kunstwerke aus Stahl, dallas Glas, Keramik und seine Gemälde sind in Italien und im Ausland in öffentlichen sowie in privaten Sammlungen und Museen zu finden.