The fourth revolution of opera:
How would it be if the orchestra were able to replicate the recitation?

Opera 4.0 is currently instigating the fourth revolution in opera history by going back to the essentials of opera: recitation. This approach will make opera accessible to a broader public.

When opera was "invented" in the Renaissance, the sole aim of the circle of artists, poets and thinkers associated with the Florentine Camerata was to make the classical texts more exciting. In order to achieve this they had the idea of underlaying the stories with music and having the text be sung. From then on opera swiftly became an art form in its own right, with the music developing its own role and importance. In three main stages of development the relationship and balance between music and text was constantly reevaluated.

It may be that linguistic rhetoric is a recurring issue nowadays, especially in historical performance practice, but Opera 4.0 introduces new dimensions to this aspect of performance: Words and music are of equal importance and are able to develop their rhetorical power with many different affects. As a result, today’s audience is able to share the passion of the protagonists with renewed thrill, both in the recitatives and the arias.

World premiere Opera 4.0

MOZART - Le Nozze di Figaro

23rd September 2017 - Auditorium de Palma

Screenshot

MOZART - Le Nozze di Figaro

23rd September 2017- Auditorium de Palma

In choosing to put on ‘Le Nozze di Figaro’, Giuliana Retali introduced one of the most beautiful and most performed operas of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart to Mallorcan audiences. A new style of recitation, direct and emotion-based, made this production a special experience for the audience.

The show gained a particularly lively character thanks to projections, which enabled the venue to be visually relocated in the most splendid mansions, manor houses and estates on the island of Mallorca. The audience was thus magically transported to secret and hidden treasure troves around the island.

The production received huge support thanks to the participation of producer and choreographer Deda Cristina Colonna. Her specialities are rhetorical gesture, close attention to the art of recitation and an elegant staging.

With ‘Le Nozze di Figaro’ Giuliana Retali instigated a fourth revolution in opera history, following ten years of intense preparatory work: the project Opera 4.0.


LE NOZZE DI FIGARO - Flyer (PDF-Download)

Simply by emphasizing the meaning of the words, the singing once again captures the hearts of the audience.

Screenshot
Renowned singers from famous opera houses such as La Scala in Milan, the Staatsoper in Berlin, the Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, the Teatro Real in Madrid and the Opéra National in Paris put on a world-class performance for Mallorcan opera-goers. They were accompanied by the orchestra ‘Camerata Mallorquina’, specially formed from local musicians.
Figaro: Alessandro Luongo
Susanna: Juanita Lascarro
Conte: Fabio Capitanucci
Contessa: Maya Boog
Cherubino: Paola Gardina
Bartolo: Pablo López
Marcellina: Agata Bienkowska
Don Basilio/Don Curzio: Gianluca Pasolini
Antonio: Nicolò Bartoli
Barbarina: Valentina Pennino

Orchestra: Camerata Mallorquina
Musical Director: Giuliana Retali
Artistic Director: Deda Cristina Colonna
Location: Auditorium de Palma
Background Image



More videos on our YouTube-Channel

The Initiator: Giuliana Retali

image

Giuliana Retali

CONDUCTOR, MUSICIAN, INITIATOR, AMBASSADOR

"Opera 4.0 is my masterpiece of classical and baroque opera staging, with a completely new interpretation as far as music and language are concerned."



link to my website

Oper in der vierten Revolution:
Wie wäre es, wenn das Orchester die Rezitation reproduzieren könnte?

Als vierte Revolution der Operngeschichte führt Oper 4.0 die Oper zum Wesentlichen – der Rezitation – zurück, um sie auch einem breiteren Publikum zugänglich zu machen.

Als die Oper in der Renaissance „erfunden“ wurde, wollte der Kreis der Künstler, Dichter und Denker rund um die Florentiner Camerata nur die antiken Texte spannender machen. Dazu überlegten sie sich, die Geschichte mit Musik zu unterlegen und den Text singen zu lassen. Seit diesem Beginn hat sich die Oper doch schnell zu einer ganz eigenen Kunstform entwickelt und die Musik nahm sich bald ihren eigenen Platz darin. In drei großen Entwicklungsstufen wurde das Verhältnis von Musik und Text immer wieder neu austariert.

Heutzutage ist die Frage der sprachlichen Rhetorik besonders in der historischen Aufführungspraxis zwar ein ständiges Thema, doch mit der Oper 4.0 stößt dieses in neue Dimensionen vor: Worte und Musik sprechen so gleichermaßen und beginnen mit vielen unterschiedlichen Affekten ihre grosse rhetorische Kraft zu entfalten. Dadurch kann das Publikum von heute wieder mit den Leidenschaften der Akteure sowohl im Rezitativ wie in der Arien mitfiebern.

Weltpremiere Oper4.0

MOZART - Le Nozze di Figaro

23. September 2017 - Auditorium de Palma

Screenshot

MOZART - Le Nozze di Figaro

23. September 2017 - Auditorium de Palma

Mit „Le Nozze di Figaro“ brachte Giuliana Retali eine der schönsten und weltweit meist gespielten Opern von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart nach Mallorca. Die neue unmittelbare, gefühlsbetonende Rezitation war eine Weltpremiere und ließ die Inszenierung dabei zu einem besonderen Erlebnis für die Zuschauer werden.

Eine besondere Lebendigkeit erhielt die Darbietung durch Projektionen, mit deren Hilfe der Spielort in die herrlichsten Herrenhäuser, Güter und Orte der Insel Mallorca verlegt wurde. Die Zuschauer wurden so in die geheimnisvollen und verborgenen Schätze der Insel entführt.

Große Unterstützung erhielt die Produktion durch die Regisseurin und Choreographin Deda Cristina Colonna. Ihre Besonderheiten: Rhetorische Geste, Achtung der Rezitation und szenische Eleganz.

Mit „Le Nozze di Figaro“ leitete Giuliana Retali zugleich eine vierte Revolution der Operngeschichte nach zehn Jahren intensiver Entwicklungsarbeit ein: das Projekt Oper 4.0.


LE NOZZE DI FIGARO - Flyer (PDF-Download)

Nur mit der Bedeutungssteigerung des Wortes kommt auch der Gesang wieder zum Herzen des Zuschauers.

Screenshot
Renommierte Sänger großer Opernhäusern wie z.B. LA SCALA di Milano, STAATSOPER Berlin, Gran Teatre del LICEU de Barcelona, Teatro REAL de Madrid, OPERA NATIONAL de Paris, bieten dem mallorquinischen und internationalen Publikum eine Performance auf Weltklasseniveau. Begleitet werden sie von der aus einheimischen Musikern geformten „Camerata Mallorquina“.
Figaro: Alessandro Luongo
Susanna: Juanita Lascarro
Conte: Fabio Capitanucci
Contessa: Maya Boog
Cherubino: Paola Gardina
Bartolo: Pablo López
Marcellina: Agata Bienkowska
Don Basilio/Don Curzio: Gianluca Pasolini
Antonio: Nicolò Bartoli
Barbarina: Valentina Pennino

Orchester: Camerata Mallorquina
Musikalische Leitung: Giuliana Retali
Regie: Deda Cristina Colonna
Location: Auditorium de Palma
Background Image



Mehr Videos finden Sie auf unserem offiziellen YouTube-Kanal

Die Initiatorin: Giuliana Retali

image

Giuliana Retali

Dirigentin, Musikerin, Initiatorin, Botschafterin

"OPER 4.0 ist mein Meisterwerk klassischer und barocker Opern-Inszenierung mit völlig neuartiger Interpretation auf musikalischer und sprachlicher Ebene."



zu meiner Website